Worst Movie Ever….Take One

You knew it was coming. “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times” and I’m pretty sure Dickens meant these films when referring to the worst. It happens. Directors, producers, writers, actors, they all mean well, they really do. Unfortunately, their best intentions end up with the viewers’ eyes just being assaulted and not in a good way. Seriously, can we talk about how bad these movies are???? First up……

YellowBrickRoad (2010)

Holy…… There are no words to explain how I felt at the end of this. I really felt as though I wasted so much time in attempting to understand just what was going on. I’ve read a few reviews and comments regarding YellowBrick and for the most part, everyone does agree that it is a bad movie. Why is it bad? It’s one of those movies that you really want to get into, the storyline drew me in and I was intrigued of a horror movie with such an innocent sounding name. The tagline? “They were searching for an evil in the forest….but the forest found the evil in them.” Creepy, right? The movie started out promising enough. I don’t want to give away too much away should you decide that YellowBrick is something that you want to watch, but in a nutshell, a research team visits the town of Friar, New Hampshire to learn more about an 1940 incident where the people of Friar walked up a mountain trail and never returned. The research team just want to know what happened to over 300 people as an earlier expedition found the remains of the town, some frozen to death, some brutally slaughtered. As the movie goes along, viewers watch the inevitable decline of the research team, a brother mercilessly kills his sister in front of the others, an assistant walks off a cliff without a sound. However, by the end, it all dissolves into a horrible mess. Nothing makes sense. For a movie to work, there has to be a good explanation for a whole town just getting up one day and walking a trail to die. I mean, call me crazy, but I like my plots with no holes in them.

To be fair, there are people who like YelllowBrick and that’s just fine. I’m just not one of them. It left me wanting so much more and it had the potential to be a great movie….if it wasn’t for the ending. You suck me in and leave me hanging? No screams for you!

Leave a Reply

