Halloween 2013: What Are You Watching?

It’s the most glorious time of the year again: Halloween! And you know what that means, bats and ghouls: Horror movies galore! (Sorry, I had to do it.)First of all, kudos to Chiller TV and the Syfy Channel for their evening horror movies and 31 Days of Halloween. I look forward to this every year as I am sometimes introduced to older horror movies I missed. So thank you for showing such gems as Witches’ Night, The Ferryman, The Moth Diaries and House of Bones. There’s going to be a Nightmare  on Elm Street marathon on the 31st, so tell your boss you’re working from home that day.

So what are you watching in our scariest month of the year? Are you going for the classics such as An American Werewolf in London, The Shining, or House of Usher? Are you a Mario Bava fan and watching Kill Baby..Kill or Bay of Blood? Are you a remake hound and comparing earlier versions of I Spit on Your Grave, Evil Dead, The Omen and Halloween to their later updates? Quite frankly, I don’t think that you can go wrong with any of that. I am an eclectic horror fan, I’m all over the board with what I love and what I hate. However, I am a foreign horror fan hands down and in anticipation of House in the Alley (or Ngoi nga trong hem for the language purists out there), the horror flick from Vietnam, I am adding more Asian horror to my watchlist.

My October Watchlist: Hausu, Sadako 3D, Nightmare Detective, American Mary, Hollow, The People Under the Stairs, John Dies at the End, The Awakening, The Possession of David O’Reilly, Breeders, Home Sweet Home, Demonic, The Surge, The Pot, Baby Shower, Loner, Pieces, A Horrible Way to Die

Granted I will be watching more, but for those not certain what to watch or just looking for something that you haven’t seen yet, feel free to add on. Happy Halloween, you horror freaks!

Leave a Reply

