The Best and Worst…and the OK of 2013

Ok, horror babies, you knew it was coming. I know, I know, there are a ton of lists out there already with The Best of This and This is Why This Movie Sucked and yadda yadda yadda. Here is this list gets a little different. Not all the movies I saw in 2013 were bad or good, they sort of fell in between. You know the type, that movie that made you go, “Meh, it was okkkayyy…..” And you know what? That right there, that okkkayyy is what makes movie viewing so much fun. Granted, I have not had the opportunity to watch every last film of 2013, so this list is subject to change.

Alright, let’s start with the easy….the good movies of 2013

4Closed (surprisingly not that bad, I did enjoy myself watching this. Learned a little sign language along the way too.)

Curse of Chucky (I will admit that I did not expect much from this last installment of the franchise , but I was pleasantly surprised. Fantastically done.)

V/H/S 2 (much better done the second time around)

You’re Next (I had the opportunity to watch this before public release. Loved it.)

Hatchet III (I like my horror movies gory and bloody. Adam Green delivers every time.)

Aftershock (Once it got going, it got GOING.)

The ABCs of Death (Brilliantly done. Brilliant.)

The Okay Movies of 2013, those that fall in the “decent, but not great” category of horror

Jug Face (I waited for this movie to be available and I was a bit disappointed in the storytelling. An okay watch, suspenseful in places)

A Haunting at Silver Falls

Hansel and Gretel Get Baked (I totally enjoyed this movie. More Reynaldo Gallegos, please)

Evil Dead (I wasn’t blown away, but they did it decently and bloody. That’s what I like.)

Warm Bodies (Zombie romance, William Shakespeare inspired. Cute.)

Apartment 1303 (Decent story, decent scares.)

The Last Exorcism 2 (Better more than the first.)

Mama (I really expected more from my beloved del Toro. This didn’t deliver the scares I wanted, but the story was ok.)

Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters (Could have used more scares, but Jeremy Renner looked hot.)

The BAD of 2013……you knew there were going to be some oddballs out there, but whoo, chile!

Gallowwalkers (Seriously, Wesley, what were you thinking?)

13/13/13 (Horrible acting, horrible story…..just horrible all around.)

No Tell Motel (It had potential, but it lost it about 15 minutes in.)

A Haunting in Connecticut: Ghosts of Georgia (Name needed a lot of work)

 

The 2013 horror movie list is definitely longer than the one here and full of potential surprises which I look forward to finding out about. I have several titles to track down, so stay turned, my horror darlings!

Leave a Reply

