80s Horror Movie Project

 

As stated in an earlier post, I am personally taking on a movie challenge in horror by watching movies from the 80s that I have not seen before. Started on the first of September, I have been going nonstop with finding movies I haven’t seen and haven’t heard of. I have been fortunate enough to be able to find several enjoyable horror movies without resorting to having to buy. I am not against buying and building my horror collection, however, I enjoy watching movies first and then being able to make a well-informed decision on whether or not to purchase. (I only have so much room in my house, people.)

I kick-offed my project with George A. Romero’s Day of the Dead which is ironic in some ways as it was the last of his Dead Trilogy. I was quite impressed with the film.  I am not a zombie fan to say the least, but this is one zombie film that I enjoyed. The acting wasn’t terrible, the effects were good and gross and Joseph Pilato as Rhodes was fantastic as an overbearing asshole. I have seen too few Romero films and that is something that has to change. Next was Maniac Cop. I have already seen 2 and 3 and have been searching for the first one for some time. I count myself fortunate in being able to find it on Youtube. Bruce Campbell did his thing, no surprise there and I quite liked the creepiness of the plot. I had a bit of sympathy for both Cordell and his story, but not a whole lot.

As the month is nearly over, I will keep the post to shortening reviews and listing the movies that I have been able to work through as I have seen some good, some bad, and some horrible horror flicks. (Really horrible, too.)

Beyond Evil (skip it)

Redneck Zombies (was actually fun to watch)

Critters 2 (yes, I have yet to see the first one, but was still able to keep up with the story which I appreciated)

Xtro (bored me #sorrynotsorry)

Cheerleader Camp

He Knows You’re Alone

The Howling

Satan’s Blade (horrible)

Blood Theatre (just no)

New Year’s Evil (meh)

Creature (could have been better)

A Blade in the Dark (I wanted to like this one, but it was a disappointment)

Julie Darling (unexpectedly impressive)

Demons

Killer Workout aka Aerobi-Cide (mixed feelings on this one, but love the leotards)

Blood Diner (a little campy, but interesting)

The Boogey Man (Oh, Lommel, I will never love you)

Rawhead Rex (more enjoyable than I thought)

Intruder (a bit predictable by the middle, but still fun)

Invaders From Mars (silly, fun, gotta love Karen Black)

Return of the Killer Tomatoes (NEED for my collection)

The Howling IV

Touch of Death (not my favorite of Fulci’s work, but I did like it)

Mortuary

Blood Beach (bored me to tears)

Beverly Hills Vamp (a lot of fun to watch)

Pulse

Hell Night

The Toxic Avenger part 3

The Appointment (I do believe that the storyline/plot lost itself after the first 20 minutes or so)

Dark Night of the Scarecrow (was glad that I was able to track down this film, had me talking to the screen)

Dead of Winter (more suspenseful, but still had good shocks and a good story)

With only a few more days to go, I do expect both good and bad movies to be found and watched and in all honesty, this horror fan is looking forward to it. Stay tuned, horror fans.

 

 

 

 



 

Leave a Reply

