Lord of Tears (The Owlman)

lord2

Welcome back, my beloved ghouls! I know that in my last post, I had dropped a little line regarding a movie I watched around the same time as Curse of Mesopotamia and today I wanted to take some time to get into it a little bit. I will try to not to spoil it for future viewers.

Lord of Tears aka The Owlman is a 2013 Scottish horror film that I happened upon at random with my man. Personally, I have not had the chance to view many Scottish horror, although I know of several including Dog Soliders, but this point, I would say that out of the few films that I have seen, The Wicker Man stays a favorite of mine and I did enjoy Let Us Prey.  I was not quite sure what to expect from LOT and at first glance, I was reminded of Stage Fright:Aquarius (1987), but I was quickly made aware that LOT was nothing like that.

owlman

Lord of Tears follows the story of a quiet, unassuming teacher who learns that he inherits some pieces of property from his mother after her death. Despite his mother’s warnings not to return to one house in particular, our protagonist, James, does anyway in order to help him find some answers on his shoddy memory from when he was younger. Upon returning, much to the chagrin of his friend whose father is close to death’s door, James finds a young woman, Eve, staying at the home, looking after it. He also finds himself being stalked/followed and having visions of a shadowy half-man half-owl creature speaking in riddles. Delving more into his past and occassionally having a bit of fun with Eve (not what you think, dirty minds!), James uncovers the truth of his childhood memories, why he left the home in the first place, who Eve really is, and why you should always listen to your mother.

Lord of Tears is directed by Lawrie Brewster and is his debut feature film. He is fantastic at his occupation and when teamed with Sarah Daly, who wrote the script, all I can say is, “Yassss! You did the damn thing!” I loved Lord of Tears. I loved the environment, I loved the bleakness, I loved the shadows, I loved the fact that CGI was not needed,  I loved Eve’s fashion sense, I loved James’ gentlemanly ways……I just loved it. LOT does not need the blood and gore found in a lot of modern horror, it works well on story and atmosphere. The Owlman is terrifying in every scene. Trust when I say, you don’t want to meet him in an alley, I don’t care how lit it is.

Brewster is currently working on The Unkindness of Ravens and from what I see already, I’m all in, baby. Lord of Tears is five stars in my books and I can’t wait to see what else Brewster has in store.

lord1

Leave a Reply

