Horror Author Spotlight

For those who don’t know, I’m a big reader. Avid. Fanatic. Can’t get enough of the stuff. I want a library like Belle’s in Beauty and the Beast (It will happen one day!). In the meantime, I have books piled everywhere and I still want more. My TBR list is insane and that’s how I like it. One of my growing piles is, of course, my Horror Reading list and while granted, there are such known authors such as King, Saul, Hill and Bradbury that I have read and loved, I am always on the lookout of new authors. I thought that it would be great to start a new series talking about horror in book and in this first post, I wanted to shine a light on the amazing Neal Shusterman.

unwind

I was first introduced to Shusterman accidentally. I was browsing B&N as I’m prone to do on a lazy afternoon and was in need of something new. It was one of those times when Goodreads just wasn’t helping me and I was on my own. Not so scary, I could handle it. And then, I chanced upon a book titled Unwind. That tagline tho….”What if your parents could unwind you?” What the what????? And from that day on, I was entranced by Shusterman’s world of horror and kids. I absolutely loved Unwind. I even stumbled on a fan-made short on Youtube giving a little taste of Unwind turned live-action. Creepy and a little emotional for me. Unwind is the first book of a 4-book dystology and Shusterman is on the fast track of being a favorite horror author. Imagine my delight when I found out that he wrote for Goosebumps the tv series! I loved that show as a kid, so thank you, Shusterman, for being there in my younger years and now my later years.

I mean to finish the whole series before moving on to Shusterman’s newest work, Scythe. scythe_cover

Look at that cover! LOOK AT IT!!!!!! (Ugh, I’m such a fangirl.) Words cannot express how excited I am to read this. I could kick myself for missing the signed copies that Barnes and Noble had, but that’s ok. I will buy it and I will read it and I will stay up late to finish it and I’m going to talk about it to all my friends and I’m going to review it and it’s going to have a nice little spot on my shelf and I’m going to sleep with it and life will be complete.

Spotlight on Neal Shusterman, author of Challenger Deep, the Unwind dystology, the Skinjacker series plus more. Read it, live it, love it.

Leave a Reply

